Following Claire Chase for a week: live tweeting of the extraordinary flutist and founder of ICE

May 24, 2011

Reposted from an email from Angela Beeching, from journalist Lara Pellegrinelli:

Dear Friends,
Being a sporadic twitter user, I’ve never done anything to promote my
feed @iveheardworse.  This week, however, I’m up to something special: live tweeting as I shadow Claire Chase, an extraordinary musician – words I do not use lightly – and the executive director of the International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE). Claire has won numerous awards as a flute player and taken ICE from a little start-up to a trailblazing new music group with a budget that is fast approaching a million dollars. I wanted to see how she does it all. And I figured, what better way than to walk a mile in her shoes? So starting tomorrow at 8:30AM, I’ll be with Claire from nearly sun up ’til sundown for seven days–or until I collapse from exhaustion, whichever comes first. The result will be a feature I’ll produce for the NPR Arts Desk (air date and show TBA). So I invite you to follow me and Claire @iveheardworse (#chaseclaire). If you’re not on twitter, you can find still track us on the web: twitter.com/iveheardworse

cheers
Lara Pellegrinelli

for mailing lists/PR: lpellegrinelli@gmail.com

Related IPAP article:

A chat with ICE founder and flutist, Claire Chase

7 Responses to “Following Claire Chase for a week: live tweeting of the extraordinary flutist and founder of ICE”


  1. ICE had three concert video performances which streamed via Q2. They were wonderful.

    I can only hope that they are the leading edge of a move to a paradigm shift to long form serious music videocasts.

    I know that they cost money to produce, so I did my bit and made contributions to ICE at their web site. I have been pushing this idea pretty heavily at my MusicSprings blog.


  2. Sorry for this, I saw that my name was linked to my ScienceSprings blog and so I just looged out and redid the registration.

  3. Laura Lentz Says:

    Thanks Richard for your comments.


  4. […] by Laura Lentz Published: May 24, 2011 Innovative ideas in performance and pedagogy original link […]


  5. […] following-claire-chase-for-a-week-live-tweeting-of-the-extraordinary-flutist-and-founder-of-ice/ […]


  6. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the
    same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.


Leave a Reply

